Wedding Wakeup Call Part One

Here I am in the bus back home from Amore and over the last 2 days it finally dawned upon me just how expensive berkats can be! If one berkat is $1 and there are a 1000 guests i’ll spend $1000. So if it’s even just slightly more, say, $1.50, i’ll spend $1500?! On gifts that my guests may or may not use!? Fo real man. Dude, I could buy a Gucci widdat! Sorry, I know that remark sounds really tak ikhlas, nak kasi orang berkat abeh mengira, tapi duit kalau tumbuh macam daun takpe cik. Saya just sayin’ je pe. It just is a late wakeup call to me. Haha.

Mum says that attendance wont be full usually, and selalu memang ada excess berkat so always buy slightly lesser? Ex-BTBs, is this true? Do you always have excess berkats? Like alot? So far my sedara all kahwin got excess ah. Should i get 850-900 for a 1000pax majlis?

15 thoughts on “Wedding Wakeup Call Part One

  1. I think there’s a huge possibility that I will buy chocolates as berkats, so kalau ade left overs I can eat, hahahah!
    Maybe you should buy sthng that you can use kalau ade leftovers.

  2. OMGucci! hehe..can’t help it..ya lah..i pun guilty of chucking berkat(s) aside..unless it is food items like chocolates or sweets..itu pun kadang i pass to my brothers..

    • IKR.. Sometimes u just get so many berkat it becomes redundant. :( tho i do use some towel berkats as kain lap2 kat rumah. Haha. The other vases and stuff, are usually chucked somewhere.. Or worse still, thrown. Wasted kan.

  3. Wondering the same thing too! Is it safe to get a slightly lesser amount of berkat? :/ Lesser by how many tu. Tapi kalau tak cukop abes ah.

    • Yes that’s the thing! But seriously, so far berkat semua ada extra la, from my observation of weddings. (Except those yang provided by caterer and caterer cabut and lari with money, that kind)
      Recently my cousin had a 1000pax wedding and ordered 800-850 berkat. Still got extra! But maybe 850 is a good qty? Cos sometimes orang kirim, then sometimes we also nak for ourselves, then usually closer fam members get lots more berkat..

  4. Babe! My aunt gave me a gauge.. Usually about 80% of your pax will turn up. But there are also alot of other factors ah. I was told if yours is the first wedding then more people will turn up unless on your date ada banyak sangat jemputan and tak sempat pergi or hujan so malas nak keluar. Haha. You can check with your caterer too coz they would be experts on this! :)

  5. mine & abg don’s had leftovers. when we put both together, the pair seemed like a good tea-break duo. redondo with dilmah tea. haha. so tea’s a good idea! and yeah, i’d go lesser on the quantity.

Leave a comment