For A Little Piece of Heaven

Okay, while you guys have been busy stalking vendors and blogs, I have been so busy last week, stalking HDB’s website. Maklumlah, rumah di location idaman tak dapat during September’s BTO (which left us so sedih, especially me, cos I pass by the damn place almost everyday, and now they’ve started to block up the area and prepare for piling); so the boy and I have been waiting like buah tak jatuh for this upcoming May opening!

Usually it happens on the last few days of the month, so since last Monday, (err ni part malu la nak cakap) I have been bloody refreshing the HDB Sales Launch site and page every few hours! (ok bedek again, sometimes every few minutes when I’m free.)

The thing is, we heard rumours (ok bedek again, tak hear langsung; but googled for info more like it) about a Sale of Balance Flats and we actually thought we’d like to apply for it. Due to geographical locations, there is no way I will ever live with his family! So my house is the only option (and I’m quite thankful actually) but due to space constraints and wanting to start a family when we have a place to call our own, we were really leaning toward SBF instead of BTO (even before it was confirmed that there’d be a May SBF in the first place. Hahaha)

Why wait for May BTO? Cos there’s one in Woodlands!

BUT.

Our initial reaction was that it was terperap in some far end area, not the place that we want (of course, because the only place we wanted was in the damn Sep one itself. So memang tak guna la kita). There weren’t any buses, it’s not near to any kedai kopi or main amenities such as pasar/supermarket (the kedai kopi is a must because the only thing the mamat looks forward to is waking up early and walk to a kedai kopi to have breakfast together. He finds it very romantic; betul tak bedek.)

So after 4 days of cursing and swearing, at 0954hrs (hahaha sorry la I really can remember the exact time! kenapa tak down to millisecond skali kan?) and after umpteen times of refreshing, finally keluarlah the long-awaited BTO and SBF for May!

Happy nak mampus siol. Padahal batu bata untuk rumah pun lum tau dapat, geng.

Malangnya.

Bila da semangat bukak SBF page, I was greeted by this:

Sale of Balance Flats May 2013

FOUR SIA KORANGGGG. APE NI? TUNGGU FOREVER-EVER, HAVING TO BATTLE FOR THE BALLOT, FOR EVERYTHING FOR FOUR MEASLY UNITS?!

35514833

So like it or not, I tengok lah BTO 2013.

To my pleasant surprise, I saw this when I saw the site plan!

20130606-030740.jpg

Okayyyy, nothing much kan? Let’s zoom in to a)

20130606-174635.jpg
Shops! Because like I’ve mentioned, this place ulu kia, so far from main amenities. The fact that 1) there’s a supermarket *squeals* and 2) restaurant & eating house *err..manly squeal?* (on behalf of the mat! Hahaha!)

A kedai runcit/minimart/supermarket is SUPER IMPORTANT to me because there are days when you tengah masak abeh tiba-tiba garam habis or kicap habis, you need that saviour-of-a-shop seh! No one is gonna trudge their ass far to get garam in an emergency, i tell you.

The kedai kopi confirm chop pork chop, a plus for my mat (and me also) cos even if it’s gonna be mainly non-halal, we’d appreciate a prata breakfast every once in awhile.

Now b)

20130606-031056.jpg

Bus stop! Yes. Tersangatlah penting untuk minah lambat like me. God knows how many times I’ve gotten into trouble with the grumpy mat and everyone else whenever i’m not punctual. (Which has never been in my life dictionary, fyi) hahaha.

I swear there is currently no bus stop anywhere near here, so I’d like a house that is dekat to a bus stop. Save the hassle of walking so far. Kalau da lambat 1 minute pun precious, oi!

Aaaaaanyway, the applications closed on 5th June at midnight and as at 2pm yesterday, the final number of applications received was 420 for 353 units. Which is still a positive sign cos our previous BTO area was jialat sia. 400% oversubscribed k! Don’t play play!

Results will be out end of June, and the minah kiasu has deduced that the last possible release of results will be 28th June cos 29-30th will be a weekend. Haha (smangat kan). That leaves me and si mamat with at most 21 days to be anxious and nervous.

So yes, though there’s still a chance that we may be one of the miserable 67 couples who will fail to get a home, (which will make up 18.98% of the total applications received, btw! I got so anxious that I calculated. Haha sepak please.) sigh, we tawakkal and leave it to the Almighty.

Cos if it has been fated that this is where i’ll build a home and start a family, then no matter the number of applications, god willing, it shall eventually be rumahku syurgaku.

Til then we’ll just keep praying and hoping!

/edit/ oh when I said geographical location is because my fiance’s parents migrated to KL like, 11 years ago. So kalau nak carik rumah kat KL then for sure da lama I da book Chenta Weddings pun! (Then show off kat sini mintak kene jeling dengan korang. Haha!)/edit/

11 thoughts on “For A Little Piece of Heaven

  1. Hahah, im lost!
    Okay seriously, the person who’s been busy with the applications was my fiance, im just totally lost when it comes to stuff like this.
    I didn’t even know it’s called SBF, hahahah!
    All the best to you too, in sha Allah you’ll be successful with the application!

    • Haha ya SBF is the short form for it. Haha.
      For me, it’s my 2nd time and again, i’m the one applying. In fact, for his wedding pun i’m the one who helped source for his vendors and all.. So it’s like me planning for TWO weddings! *pengsan*
      Anyway, all the best for your SBF! My fiance lives in Tampines and I love the east but the prices are too steep and area just not practical for us so too bad la.. But pray hard we’ll both get our homes!

  2. if you really get it, then we’ll be really really near to me & abg don. haha. we’re gonna be at woodlands dew. and yes, most people gave us a “why woodlands?? so far & ulu!” but let’s wait for the good things and show them yea. and good luck!

    • Yes I was telling Fattah and my parents your BTO that’s in progress and how near you guys will be. I was apprehensive at 1st but then when I saw the site plan I guess it was promising enough. Ada hikmahnya I guess. :) pray that we’ll get it k! Then can berjiran2. Hahaha

  3. yay inshallah, hoping you’ll get good news at the end of the month! ps: i was informed by a HDB officer that second timers are usually given priority at the next attempt. not sure how the system works, but i hope that helps in a way! :)

Leave a comment